Hey there! And hello to you 

too!
January 13, 2006
I'm exhausted.

Absolutely and completely exhausted. Rehearsal let out actualy EARLY last night (well, by a few minutes, anyway, but I still had to change and put props away and gather my stuff so I left a little later than most everyone else, but I still made good time compared to when I usually leave after being dismissed) but it was still 9.30 by the time I got home. Which, okay, truly isn't that late, but rehearsal was GRUELING. Prancing and dancing around in heels under hot lights for three hours sort of takes a toll on a body. To make matters WORSE, the snack/drink machines were on the third floor, and the elevator starts on the third floor... so that's two big flights of stairs. Most of the time at a run because I was scared to death that I would miss a cue.

I have to use the restroom SO badly.

Rehearsal again tonight, again from 6-9. Running different things this time though. Last night was I Hate Music, Sue Me, Ragtime, and a side of Hippopotomus song. Tonight I have Alabama Song, Poisoning Pigeons in the Park, Ragtime, and a side fo Masochism Tango. Hoooray. Yay for Poisoning Pigeons in the Park, BOO for Alabama Song. Actually, nah, it's not that bad... it went really well when I sang through it yesterday during class, and I have a feeling it'll be even better when I'm singing at Black Box... acoustics make ALL the difference.

I hope I know all the words for Ragtime this time.

The skies were blue and hazy
Rarely a storm
Barely a chill
La, la la la la
The afternoons were lazy
Everyone warm
Everythign still
La, la la la la
And there was distant music
Simple and somehow sublime
Giving the nation
A new syncopation
The people called it ragtime

And there was distat music
Skipping a beat
Singing a dream
La, la la la la
A strange insistant music
Putting out heat
Picking up steam
La, la la la la
The sound is distant thunder
Suddenly starting to climb...
It was the music of somethign beginning
An era exploding, a century spinning
In riches and rags
And in rhythm and rhyme
The people called it ragtime
Ragtime! Ragtime Ragtime!

...I guess I do remember it all. Thought it took a bit for me to remember the "Putting out heat, picking up steam." And I know I'm gonna forget to turn on the "La, la la la la"s. Gayness.

Gahhhhh but I love Ragtime. And for SOME REASON I love the fact that I didn't learn the first soprano on accident. Cuz it only splits in soprano-alto for the entire thing, but on the last two "Ragtime!"s theres a first soprano second sporano split (second sopranos retaining the original notes), and on the third theres a higher solo voice. I decided to just stay with the same notes, thus taking the second... and it worked and YOU KNOW HOW I KNOW? Because the first soprano second soprano split goes RIGHT over the soprano break, so I can basically belt out (or, okay, not belt I think, Im not sure if thats what it is) while the other sopranos have to go into head voice, and MY voice ends up being the loudest ones. HA. Well, not the loudest VOICE, per se... because, like, ALL the sopranos chose to go up and I'm like the only one staying on second soprano, but I get to have a LOT of fun with projection so I'm just as loud as the rest of them combined. It's so great.

Good freaking God I have a lot to say. And mostly because I'm still pretending to write this paper, so the more my fingers dance across this keyboard, she more she thinks I"m getting done. Which is not an HONEST system, but I"m not exactly lying... I can't think of any more for my paper yet. I'm gonna have to work on it when I get home. Jeez my fingers are flyig across this keyboard. I think that may be a reason why I'm stll typing... I'md oing it fast so I can type ALMOST as fast as I'm thinking, which is always kind of cool.

Oh my GOSH am I actually running out of things to say? No, not possible.

OH HERE WE GO I knew there was more.

Except on further examination I've realized that, much as I want to, it's not the wisest thing to put in my duary.

And now I have to go. WOOOO FOR GSA! Best part of the frikkin day. I finally get to live.

Greetings from Freshman Composition! | MORE random



lily
---------
navigate
---------
petals
---------
stem
---------